For Immediate Release

November 14, 2022

 ISBE welcomes members of the 2022-23 Student Advisory Council

 26 high schoolers from across Illinois will serve as student advisers to ISBE


SPRINGFIELD – The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) today announced 26 high school students to serve on its 2022-23 Student Advisory Council. The council includes 20 new and six returning members from across the state. Student Advisory Council members serve as student advisers to the State Board and provide a unique perspective to help ISBE develop and implement important policy decisions. Members

of the State Board welcomed the 2022-23 Student Advisory Council at the start of their September regular business meeting in Springfield.


“ISBE is proud to welcome the newest cohort of the Student Advisory Council,” said State Superintendent of Education Dr. Carmen I. Ayala. “This year's Student Advisory Council is a diverse group of impressive young adults who are eager to help address challenges facing themselves and their peers. Their perspective gives the Board valuable insight into the issues students care about and how our education system can better meet their needs."


A selection committee, comprised of ISBE senior staff and educational stakeholders, reviewed the submitted applications and interviewed students to choose the best candidates for the 2022-23 Student Advisory Council.


The council will research and present on a variety of topics to ISBE that are affecting student success across the state and will focus on recommending ways to respond to these pressing challenges.


The new members of the 2022-23 Student Advisory Council are:

  • Eshaam Bhattad, senior at Stevenson High School

  • Akou Bright Doh, junior at Monmouth-Roseville High School

  • Crystal Carmona, sophomore at Auburn High School

  • Olivia Frey, senior at Niles North High School

  • Ashtyn Gallagher, senior at Dundee-Crown High School

  • Soren Gjesfjeld, junior at Bloomington High School

  • Jeremiah Griffin, junior at Lindblom Math & Science Academy High School

  • Sarah Guerrero Gorostieta, junior at Fenton High School

  • Rossi Gutierrez, senior at Streamwood High School

  • Victor Hinojosa, sophomore at Waukegan High School

  • Jenna Jiang, junior at Eldorado High School

  • Suha Khan, sophomore at Plainfield North High School

  • Ajani King, junior at Peoria Richwoods High School

  • Lukus Middleton, sophomore at Litchfield Senior High School

  • Jessica Perez-Ferman, senior at Rockford Auburn High School

  • Leshawn Sanders, senior at Thornton Fractional Township High School

  • Sareena Shah, senior at Walter Payton College Preparatory High School

  • Sam Siu, senior at Pekin Community High School

  • Sierra Vanmeter, sophomore at North Greene Junior/Senior High School

  • Izabella Wills, senior at Georgetown Ridge High School


The returning members of the council are:

  • Ranyia Cox, senior at East St. Louis Senior High School

  • Jayla Davis, junior at Springfield Southeast High School

  • Cruz Garza, senior at Zion-Benton Township High School

  • Kaylee Horn, senior at Carrier Mills-Stonefort High School

  • Elle Jones, junior at Tuscola Community High School

  • Dhruv Patel, senior at Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy


Learn more about the ISBE Student Advisory Council on the Student Voices microsite, which also provides an opportunity for students around the state to ask the council questions.